chocolate, chard and cheating

Easter Sunday, a day of chocolate feasting for many. Luckily for us for the first year ever the girls received absolutely minimal chocolate from others (still more than desirable i.e. any, but an improvement) although Yogi did actually receive some!

We decided to not go with the traditional (for us too) Easter Bunny hides eggs throughout and be a little more honest with Boo and tell her that later on in the day we would set up an easter egg hunt. She did ask me about it, where did people get the eggs from if the EB didn’t bring them so I told her we bought them. She seems happy enough, she was still getting her easter egg hunt, but could thank us for the excitement rather than just expecting them to be there. She didn’t seem to miss the ‘magic’ and was thoroughly excited running round the garden hunting for eggs, for me it was better as I didn’t have to remember to hide them the night before or make sure I didn’t accidentally point any out. It also meant I could judge the weather and then decide whether or not to hide them outside. We did, but before they started they were ordered to ‘go find a basket each’ and it had to be a proper basket or they weren’t allowed to go hunt (Noise tried to use an empty ice cream container but got sent back!). The big girls enjoyed it (as always) and Boo seemed extra excited screeching at me for finding such good hiding places etc. It was nice, nicer than ever before I think. I only hid a few mini choc eggs each and then I also hid the ones they’d received from Grandma & another. Neither of the received eggs were big, Grandma did little ones, cadbury cream egg sized and ‘another’ bought the littlest size of the boxed eggs. So nothing too huge. I also hid two little bowls I’d made for Yogi & Boo and an easter egg colouring book for Boo and ‘Ten Chirpy Chicks’ for Yogi, Boo has the caterpillar version and we’ve borrowd the tadpole one from the library so I knew it’d be a hit and it was.

yes-mum-proper-basketseggs-in-the-willow-treei-found-a-bowl

 

boos-stash

 

 

 

 

 

 

Onto the chard!

Actually it starts with the sowing of carrot seeds, onion sets, parsnips and beetroot. Boo sowed beetroot, radish and carrots in her trough and then decided she’d plant a cabbage plant and sow some chard too.

So, bed number 1 has the carrots, the onions, the garlic and the parsnips along with half a row of beetroot too. bed number 2 is for the legumes so not planted yet (except I decided to sow a row of rainbow chard) and bed number 3 belongs to the brassicas. I can’t remember whether I should have been planting brassicas just yet but I did – more about that in the next section….) bed number 4 is potatoes but that was a few weeks ago – although I should note we have shoots! Strawberries are surviving transplantation well and I even found a few more had popped up in the potato bed so they had to come up too! All in all a pretty productive time.

     parsnipsonionsbeetrootcarrotsgarlic1boos-troughthe-leg-bed-with-a-row-of-chard1next comes the cheat….

last years experience with the brassicas was so bad I wasn’t sure I could repeat it this year (and I haven’t got round to it yet either…. but that’s another story) so I decided to buy seedlings, quite big ones. Cheating but as last year was such a non-started I figured what the heck, it’d still be cheaper than buying the same veggies cheats-cabbage-broccoli1at the supermarket and I’d still have to take responsibility for their growth from now on so here they are

 

and then Yogi woke up and she joined us too

yogi-joins-us1

Leave a Reply

